The intent of this page is to outline some potential scenarios in which a device is no longer in use at a company, and to provide some guidance on the steps to take in offboarding that device
Device is Reusable
Employee departure
When an employee has an amicable departure, it may feel like there’s less urgency to execute offboarding actions, but it’s still general best practice to perform these steps in a timely manner. First, issue a “lock device” action [currently Apple only] until you’ve had a chance to review that all relevant data has been archived from the device.
After the device has been locked, you should also suspend the user’s account in order prevent ongoing access to company data & revoke all current sign-in sessions in order to ensure that phones/personal devices are properly logged out.
Once the device has been collected & any relevant data backed up, then issue the “wipe device” action. Note that the device needs an active internet connection to receive this command, so steps may need to be taken to connect it to the office network if it was normally used remotely. The security certificate used to securely communicate with the MDM server also has an expiration date, so it’s best to wipe devices as soon as feasible.
- Lock device
- Suspend account
- Revoke sign-in sessions
- Collect device
- Wipe device
Termination
During a less than amicable employee departure, the steps are generally the same but on a slightly more urgent timeline. The device should be locked (as a precursor to wiping if data needs to be preserved) or simply wiped. Then the user’s account should be suspended & all current sign-in sessions revoked to ensure that all access to company resources is properly terminated.
Once the device has been collected & any relevant data backed up, then issue the “wipe device” action. Note that the device needs an active internet connection to receive this command, so steps may need to be taken to connect it to the office network if it was normally used remotely. The security certificate used to securely communicate with the MDM server also has an expiration date, so it’s best to wipe devices as soon as feasible.
- Lock or wipe device
- Suspend account
- Revoke sign-in sessions
- Collect device
- Wipe device (if not already completed)
Device is not reusable
Loss/theft
In the scenario where a device is lost or stolen, the most immediate action is to utilize Zip Console to issue the “wipe device” action. This will ensure that the next time the device is powered on & connected to the internet that it will securely remove all data & reset the Operating System back to a factory-fresh start.
If the device was powered on/logged in at the time it was lost, then it is also prudent to revoke all the current sign-in sessions for the associated user account & to reset the account password.
- Issue Wipe Device Action
- Revoke account sign-in sessions
- Reset account password
Damage
In the event that a device is damaged & no longer usable, you can first attempt to salvage any relevant data from the device. Afterwards, or if that isn’t applicable, then you can issue the device wipe action as a purely precautionary measure & then delete the device record via Zip Console once you have disposed of the device.
- Salvage data
- Wipe device
- Delete device record
- Properly dispose of device
Upgrade
When it comes time to upgrade a user’s device, there’s no security blocker to allowing them to have both devices simultaneously, so the new device can be issued before the old device is returned. This gives the user a chance to verify that any data/settings are correctly accessible from/transferred to the new device. Once this is confirmed (or a deadline is reached), then you can issue the “wipe device” action and collect the previous device for proper disposal according to your policies. Note that if the device is intended to be re-usable outside of your organization (charitable donation, etc) then you should ensure that the device is released from Apple Business or removed from Microsoft Intune Autopilot.
- Enroll new device
- Migrate any data
- Wipe old device
- Properly dispose of device (optionally releasing from Apple Business/Microsoft Autopilot)